Hometown History

June 24, 2019

BY Minyetta Nelson

Detroit, MI - 

The National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame has announced its 2019 class that will be inducted at its 8th annual ceremony (5th in Detroit). The event will be held at the Charles H. Wright Museum in Detroit, Michigan on Sunday June 23rd, 2019.. Red Carpet/Media begins at 4pm, with the ceremony starting at 5pm. Aretha Franklin, already inducted as an artist in 2015, will be inducted post-humorously as a songwriter, for her numerous classics such as: Call me, Daydreaming, Dr. Feelgood, Rocksteady, Think and Who's Zooming Who. To further recognize Detroit’s favorite Queen, the R&B HOF has created a special award in her honor, the Aretha Franklin Lifetime Achievement Award. Mary Wilson of the Supremes, will be the first recipient of this prestigious award. Miss Franklin spoke with National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame Founder/CEO LaMont Robinson in 2013 and pledged her support for his organization’s goal of building a permanent museum for R&B HOF inductees. The 2019 HOF class is also rounded out by a diverse collection of artists that have had a major impact on R&B. The full list of inductees can be found on the official website: